

### Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

Day 1

(Issued Monday, October 30, 2023 pursuant to Standing Order 39(4))

## **ORDER PAPER**

First Session

Thirty-First Legislature

Monday, October 30, 2023

Please see the Opening Day program for details of the ceremony.

## NOTICES

#### **Government Motions**

2. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the following committees be established for the duration of the Legislature:

- A. Five Select Standing Committees for the following purposes:
  - (1) Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing;
  - (2) Public Accounts;
  - (3) Private Bills;
  - (4) Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund;
  - (5) Legislative Offices;
- B. A Special Standing Committee on Members' Services;
- C. Three Legislative Policy Committees for the following purposes:
  - (1) Standing Committee on Families and Communities;
  - (2) Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future;
  - (3) Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship.

3. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly resolve into Committee of the Whole, when called, to consider certain Bills on the Order Paper.

4. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly resolve into Committee of Supply, when called, to consider supply to be granted to His Majesty.

5. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the following Members be appointed to the Assembly's five Select Standing Committees, one Special Standing Committee, and three Legislative Policy Committees:

Standing Committee on the Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund (9 Members)

Yao (Chair)	Bouchard	Kasawski
Rowswell (Deputy Chair)	Brar	Kayande
Boitchenko	Hunter	Wiebe

#### Standing Committee on Legislative Offices (11 Members)

Getson (Chair)	Eremenko	Shepherd
van Dijken (Deputy Chair)	Hunter	Sinclair
Chapman	Long	Vacant
Dyck	Renaud	

#### Standing Committee on Private Bills (11 Members)

Pitt (Chair)	Deol	Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)
Stephan (Deputy Chair)	Dyck	Wright (Cypress-Medicine Hat)
Bouchard	Hayter	Vacant
Ceci	Petrovic	

# Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing (12 Members)

Yao (Chair)	Cyr	Stephan
Armstrong-Homeniuk (Deputy Chair)	Dach	Wiebe
Arcand-Paul	Gray	Vacant
Ceci	Johnson	Vacant

Standing Committee on Public Accounts (12 Members)				
Pancholi (Chair)	Ganley	McDougall		
Rowswell (Deputy Chair)	Најі	Schmidt		
Armstrong-Homeniuk	Lovely	Vacant		
de Jonge	Lunty	Vacant		
Special Standing Committee on Members' Services (11 Members)				
Cooper (Chair)	Long	Singh		
Getson (Deputy Chair)	Phillips	Yao		
Eggen	Rowswell	Vacant		
Gray	Sabir			
Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future (12 Members)				
Getson (Chair)	de Jonge	Wright (Cypress-Medicine Hat)		
Loyola (Deputy Chair)	Elmeligi	Yao		
Boparai	Hoyle	Vacant		
Cyr	Stephan	Vacant		
Standing Committee on Families and Communities (12 Members)				
Lovely (Chair)	Long	Singh		
Goehring (Deputy Chair)	Lunty	Tejada		
Batten	Metz	Vacant		
Boitchenko	Petrovic	Vacant		
Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship (12 Members)				
Rowswell (Chair)	Calahoo Stonehouse	Sinclair		
Schmidt (Deputy Chair)	Dyck	Sweet		
Al-Guneid	Hunter	Vacant		
Armstrong-Homeniuk	McDougall	Vacant		

6. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

A. Be it resolved that the Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, effective November 30, 2022, be amended as follows:

(a) in Standing Order 7

- in suborder (3) by striking out "not exceeding 4 minutes" and (i) substituting "not exceeding 6 minutes", and
- (ii) in suborder (4) by striking out "up to 7 Members" and substituting "up to 6 Members";
  - 3

- (b) in Standing Order 52
  - (i) in suborder (1) by striking out clauses (a) to (e) and substituting the following:
    - (a) Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing, consisting of 10 Members;
    - (b) Public Accounts, consisting of 10 Members;
    - (c) Private Bills, consisting of 10 Members;
    - (d) Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund, consisting of 9 Members;
    - (e) Legislative Offices, consisting of 10 Members.
  - (ii) in suborder (2) by striking out "consisting of 11 Members" and substituting "consisting of 10 Members";
- (c) in Standing Order 52.01(1)
  - (i) by striking out "consisting of 12 Members each" and substituting "consisting of 10 Members each", and
  - (ii) by striking out clauses (a) to (c) and substituting the following:
    - (a) the Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future is mandated to consider areas related to Advanced Education; Agriculture and Irrigation; Arts, Culture and Status of Women; Immigration and Multiculturalism; Infrastructure; Jobs, Economy and Trade; Technology and Innovation; Tourism and Sport;
    - (b) the Standing Committee on Families and Communities is mandated to consider areas related to Children and Family Services; Education; Health; Justice; Mental Health and Addiction; Public Safety and Emergency Services; Seniors, Community and Social Services; Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction;
    - (c) the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship is mandated to consider areas related to Affordability and Utilities; Energy and Minerals; Environment and Protected Areas; Forestry and Parks; Indigenous Relations; Municipal Affairs; Transportation and Economic Corridors; Treasury Board and Finance.

B. And be it further resolved that the amendments set out in this motion come into force on passage.

4

7. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that

(a) the Public Sector Compensation Transparency Act be referred to the Standing Committee on Families and Communities and the Committee shall be deemed to be the special committee of the Assembly for the purpose of conducting a comprehensive review pursuant to section 14 of that Act,

(b) the Committee may, without leave of the Assembly, sit during a period when the Assembly is adjourned or prorogued, and

(c) in accordance with section 14 of the Public Sector Compensation Transparency Act, the Committee must submit its report to the Assembly within six months after beginning its review and that report is to include any amendments recommended by the Committee.

8. Hon. Mr. Schow to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government of Canada to

- (a) acknowledge the negative impact of the federal consumer carbon tax on the cost of living,
- (b) recognize that the recent exemption from the consumer carbon tax provided for home heating oil will create inequities amongst Canadians, particularly with respect to those in Alberta who use lower carbon-emitting heating sources for their homes, such as natural gas, and
- (c) take all necessary steps required to end the federal consumer carbon tax.

#### Leave to Introduce a Bill

- Bill 2 Alberta Pension Protection Act Hon. Mr. Horner
- Bill 3 Opioid Damages and Health Care Costs Recovery Amendment Act, 2023 — Hon. Mr. Williams
- Bill 4 Tax Statutes Amendment Act, 2023 (\$) Hon. Mr. Horner
- Bill 5 Public Sector Employer Amendment Act, 2023 Hon. Mr. Horner

Hon. Nathan M. Cooper, Speaker

Title: Monday, October 30, 2023

5